User Generated Content (UGC) – What is it and how to use it?

User Generated Content (UGC) – What is it and how to use it?
Picture: bazaarvoice.com
Share

If you’ve ever read reviews of a product, browsed online forums, or learned about a brand from a social media post or friend’s comment before purchasing it, you’ve been exposed to content created by other users—called UGC (user-generated content). With the development of the influencer market, user-generated content has entered a new dimension and reached a higher level.

However, this does not mean that simple opinions expressed by friends or other users in comments on social networks are a thing of the past. People now have more opportunities than ever to share their honest opinions. This means that future and current customers have the chance to become your best marketers and promoters of your products and services, all for free.

What is UGC?

User-generated content (UGC) is content created by users themselves. Among the users there are both third-party clients and those who are already familiar with the product or service. In general, they can be called consumers – these are all those units that create content about the brand, for example, by tagging it on social networks and writing messages on the forum, adding, for example, a link to the source (i.e. to the domain).
UGC
Picture: canto.com

By definition, this must be free content, i.e. not sponsored or paid for by the brand. There are many examples of user-generated content, and in practice it can be used on any website that allows users to express themselves. User-generated content is not always positive for a brand, as some of it may consist of negative reviews of a product or service.

UGC includes content containing reviews:

  • on social networks;
  • on websites;
  • discussion forums;
  • in chats;
  • in advertising;
  • in digital audio and video files.

Google’s policy requires that user-generated content be marked as rel=”ugc” in the page source code, similar to how dofollow and nofollow content is marked. However, in practice this marking is not always used and you cannot always influence it.

Benefits of user-generated content

UGC undoubtedly has many benefits. However, this content is often not created “as is” – the majority of users need to be mobilized and encouraged to share their opinions online. Ultimately, the creation of this content begins in part from the position of the company itself, although UGC is not sponsored content by definition. Below are some benefits of user-generated content and short tips on how to use them for your marketing purposes.

UGC
Picture: socialbee.com

1. UGC converts better than company-generated ads. According to research, 85% of consumers say they are more influenced by user-generated content than the brand itself. Therefore, brands should communicate with their customers and mobilize them to create online content about them, inspiring them to actively participate in UGC.

2. Data from Canadian company MuseFind shows that 92% of consumers trust the opinions of influencers more than traditional advertising. If, with these (positive!) reviews, you add an additional link to the domain, you can count on increased interest in the products and services offered. We are not talking about sponsored advertising, but about spontaneous opinions expressed on the Internet, because UGC is usually generated impulsively, in the moment. People giving opinions do not use templates, they simply react to the product in the moment and, for example, leave an emotional review. So this “free advertising” can turn into “add to cart.”

What is the most effective advertising for small businesses?
What is the most effective advertising for small businesses?

3. UGC increases brand authority. If it is talked about a lot online, and in a positive way, it will be well associated with future customers. This content will help you build trust among your users—it’s an easy way to build relationships with them and then their friends.

4. Creating UGC enhances the feeling of belonging to a community, a group of people connected by opinions about a brand, product or service. When running a large company, don’t allow yourself to become isolated from your customers. By posting, commenting and sharing your content, consumers will feel like they are making an impact on the brand you run. A connection will be created between users, all through simple discussion on social media.

5. User-generated content is essentially free for you, but it can bring huge marketing benefits and increase sales. You don’t have to burden your employees with generating opinions and comments on the Internet—with proper mobilization, users will do it for them. Remember that sometimes you need to reward potential and current customers with prizes, free samples, and promotions.

How to get user content?

The most common way to attract users’ attention to your brand is through the use of social networks. Create hashtags that are relevant to your advertising and encourage your customers to use them when expressing their opinions about the brand. If you want to see where your business is being talked about so you can join the conversation or add fuel to the fire, browse popular social media channels and search for information about your domain.

UGC
Picture: embedsocial.com

See who is using your tags, who is mentioning the brand, who is tagging it on Pinterest, in comments on other sites. Find mentions on YouTube and, above all, analyze domain traffic thanks to Google Analytics and Google Search Console. Through this research, you will learn where people are talking about you and how you can use it.

If you offer a product that can be divided into samples, offer them to your users. Sending or giving away samples is an old-fashioned but still popular way to promote your brand. Samples allow users to get to know a brand in exchange for user-generated content, i.e. a spontaneous review or comment on a social network.

Organizing a contest or adding free gifts to orders can also lead to additional content that customers will brag about online. This is one of the most popular methods of obtaining user-generated content because it involves active interaction with the user. If you combine these two elements and create, for example, a survey that is attractive enough, this action will also lead to reposts and sharing of the link with friends.

If you care about a good ROI (return on investment), user-generated content should be one of the elements of your online marketing strategy. Moreover, you don’t have to invest a lot here to get significantly greater benefits. Remember that social media is a good place to do your first experiments if you’re not sure whether UGC will work for your business.

Пользовательский контент (UGC) – что это такое и как его использовать?

Пользовательский контент (UGC) – что это такое и как его использовать?
Фото: bazaarvoice.com
Поделиться

Если вы когда-либо читали мнения о продукте, просматривали онлайн-форумы или узнавали о бренде из сообщения в социальной сети или комментария друга перед его покупкой, вы имели дело с контентом, созданным другими пользователями — так называемым UGC (пользовательский контент). С развитием рынка влиятельных лиц пользовательский контент вышел на новое измерение и достиг более высокого уровня.

Однако это не означает, что простые мнения друзей или других пользователей, выраженные в комментариях в соцсетях, ушли в прошлое. Сейчас у людей больше возможностей, чем когда-либо, поделиться своим честным мнением. Это означает, что будущие и нынешние клиенты имеют шанс стать вашими лучшими маркетологами и промоутерами продуктов и услуг, и все это будет совершенно бесплатно.

Что такое UGC?

Пользовательский контент (UGC) — это контент, созданный самими пользователями. Среди пользователей есть как сторонние клиенты, так и те, кто уже знаком с товаром или услугой. В целом их можно назвать потребителями — это все те единицы, которые создают контент о бренде, например, отмечая его в социальных сетях и написав сообщения на форуме, добавляя, например, ссылку на источник (т.е. на домен).
UGC
Фото: canto.com

По определению, это должен быть бесплатный контент, т. е. не спонсируемый и не оплаченный брендом. Существует множество примеров пользовательского контента, и на практике его можно использовать на любом веб-сайте, позволяющем пользователям выражать себя. Пользовательский контент не всегда позитивен для бренда, поскольку некоторая часть его может состоять из негативных отзывов о продукте или услуге.

UGC включает в себя контент, содержащий отзывы:

  • в социальных сетях;
  • на веб-сайтах;
  • дискуссионных форумах;
  • в чатах;
  • в рекламе;
  • в цифровых аудио- и видеофайлах.

Согласно политике Google, пользовательский контент должен быть помечен как rel=»ugc» в исходном коде страницы — аналогично тому, как помечается контент dofollow и nofollow. Однако на практике эта маркировка используется не всегда и вы не всегда можете на нее повлиять.

Преимущества пользовательского контента

UGC, несомненно, имеет множество преимуществ. Однако этот контент часто не создается «как есть» — большинство пользователей необходимо мобилизовать и побудить поделиться своим мнением в Интернете. В конечном итоге создание этого контента отчасти начинается с позиции самой компании, хотя UGC не является спонсируемым контентом по определению. Ниже представлены некоторые преимущества пользовательского контента и короткие советы о том, как использовать их в своих маркетинговых целях.

UGC
Фото: socialbee.com

1. UGC конвертирует лучше, чем реклама, созданная компанией. Согласно исследованиям, 85% потребителей говорят, что на них больше влияет пользовательский контент, чем сам бренд. Поэтому брендам следует общаться со своими клиентами и мобилизовать их для создания о них онлайн-контента, вдохновляя их на активное участие в UGC.

2. Данные канадской компании MuseFind показывают, что 92% потребителей доверяют мнению влиятельных лиц больше, чем обычной традиционной рекламе. Если при этих (положительных!) отзывах вы добавите дополнительную ссылку на домен, то можете рассчитывать на повышение интереса к предлагаемым товарам и услугам. Речь идет не о спонсируемой рекламе, а о спонтанном мнении, высказанном в Интернете, потому что UGC обычно генерируется импульсивно, в данный момент. Люди, высказывающие мнение, не используют шаблоны, они просто реагируют на продукт в данный момент и, например, оставляют эмоциональный отзыв. Таким образом, эта «бесплатная реклама» может превратиться в «добавление товара в корзину».

Какая реклама самая эффективная для малого бизнеса?
Какая реклама самая эффективная для малого бизнеса?

3. UGC повышает авторитет бренда. Если о нем будут много говорить в Интернете, и в положительном ключе, это будет хорошо ассоциироваться с будущими клиентами. Благодаря такому контенту вы завоюете доверие среди пользователей — это простой способ наладить отношения с ними, а затем и с их друзьями.

4. Создание UGC усиливает чувство принадлежности к сообществу, группе людей, связанных мнениями о бренде, продукте или услуге. Управляя крупной компанией, не позволяйте себе изолироваться от клиентов. Публикуя, комментируя и делясь вашим контентом, потребители почувствуют, что они оказывают влияние на бренд, которым вы управляете. Между пользователями будет создана связь, и все это благодаря простому обсуждению в социальных сетях.

5. Пользовательский контент по сути бесплатен для вас, но он может принести огромный маркетинговый эффект и увеличить продажи. Вам не придется обременять своих сотрудников генерацией мнений и комментариев в Интернете — при правильной мобилизации за них это сделают пользователи. Помните, что иногда нужно поощрять потенциальных и текущих клиентов призами, бесплатными образцами, а также акциями.

Как получить пользовательский контент?

Самый распространенный способ привлечь внимание пользователей к вашему бренду — использование социальных сетей. Создавайте соответствующие рекламе хэштеги, поощряйте своих клиентов использовать их при выражении своего мнения о бренде. Если вы хотите узнать, где говорят о вашей компании, чтобы присоединиться к обсуждению или «подлить масла в огонь», просматривайте популярные каналы социальных сетей и ищите информацию о своем домене.

UGC
Фото: embedsocial.com

Посмотрите, кто использует ваши теги, кто упоминает бренд, кто отмечает его в Pinterest, в комментариях на других сайтах. Находите упоминания на YouTube и, прежде всего, анализируйте трафик домена благодаря Google Analytics и Google Search Console. Благодаря этим исследованиям вы узнаете, где о вас говорят и как вы можете это использовать.

Если вы предлагаете продукт, который можно разделить на образцы, предложите их своим пользователям. Отправка или раздача образцов — старомодный, но по-прежнему популярный способ продвижения вашего бренда. Образцы позволяют пользователям познакомиться с брендом в обмен на пользовательский контент, то есть спонтанный отзыв, комментарий в социальной сети.

Организация конкурса или добавление бесплатных подарков к заказу также может привести к созданию дополнительного контента, которым клиенты будут хвастаться в Интернете. Это один из самых популярных методов получения пользовательского контента, поскольку он предполагает активное взаимодействие с пользователем. Если вы объедините эти два элемента и создадите, например, опрос, который будет достаточно привлекательным, это действие также приведет к созданию репостов и обмену ссылкой с друзьями.

Если вы заботитесь о хорошем ROI (возврат инвестиций), пользовательский контент должен стать одним из элементов вашей стратегии онлайн-маркетинга. Тем более что здесь не придется много вкладывать, чтобы получить в разы большую выгоду. Помните, что социальные сети — хорошее место, где вы можете провести свои первые эксперименты, если вы не уверены, сработает ли UGC в вашем бизнесе.