How to manage a family budget: real tips and an example from the life of one family

10 min read
How to manage a family budget: real tips and an example from the life of one family
Picture: my-life.lu
Share

Galina Ostrikova, author of books on financial literacy, leading a private practice, and Anar Rzaev, an expert in creating IT startups and investments, will tell you how to properly manage a family budget.

Expert – Galina Ostrikova, author of books on financial literacy:

Everyone today understands the need to count their money, budget and save for the future. But not everyone knows and knows how to do this, because the traditional approach to balancing income and expenses does not give anything, but only aggravates the situation if the family does not have a very large income, if there is one or more children, if some family member does not work, if there are loans or mortgages, etc.

You can simply count your expenses and income to realize that your financial situation requires correction, requires changes that need to be made as soon as possible. Perhaps you can even find real ways to save within the existing budget, but what next, because no one has canceled inflation.

Additional earnings – how, on what and where to find it
Additional earnings – how, on what and where to find it
10 min read

And based on the current prices for goods and services, the pile of money that you are trying to distribute by type of expense will run out very quickly, and you will realize that there is still not enough money for a lot of things, because it’s not about expenses, but about the ability to set up circulation of money in a single family.

I like this approach because it allows, firstly, to determine your levels of survival and prosperity in order to have a certain corridor within which you live and act, which shapes your security in a particular given period.

How to create a family budget

You switch from maintaining a total budget to a percentage budget, and then all your expenses will initially be distributed into four expense categories: food, apartment (housing), vacation, New Year gifts in the following proportions: 30, 30, 10, 30%. This is the case if you have no loans. If you have them, then the redistribution of interest within the budget occurs in accordance with 5 categories of expenses. And you start from a specific life situation.

Family budget
Picture: cashfloat.co.uk

The percentage of budget expenditures is a matter of the internal freedom of each individual, so there are huge opportunities for self-development and entrepreneurship.

Planning a family budget is not a question of distributing available resources, it is a task of organizing the circulation of money within the family. I have already spoken about this, and I will repeat it again, because it is important, because in the process of managing the family budget, you learn to form the necessary financial habits, not only your own, but also those of all family members, because we are all hostages of certain behavior patterns their parents, and mainly those who did not have a lot of money in circulation or other property.

Today this is even an advantage because we can use our creativity to live better. And the lack of free money can be an advantage.

Interesting! Popular programs for maintaining a family budget: Zen Money, Monefy, EasyFinance, Toshl, CoinKeeper, 1Money. Available on Google Play and App Store

We are often within the framework of an artificial shortage of money, and any shortage of resources only generates creativity. Let’s remember that in Soviet times, in the absence of resources, many curious and interesting things were created. But this is not what I wanted to say, although this is a very important point regarding money. Money is an idea, and the more ideas a person can find and apply, the more resources he has access to.

How to make money online: consider the main methods and techniques
How to make money online: consider the main methods and techniques
11 min read

Let’s get back to creating good habits. You may already know this, but I believe that when it comes to managing a family budget, everything starts with a piggy bank, with a glass jar into which you start putting change. Transparency in all financial transactions is of utmost importance because people must learn to observe what is happening with our money, how the money pull factor works.

I understand that today many people hardly use cash, but if money is short, then “playing” with cash can give you the opportunity to simulate a new financial reality, because not only are you learning to perceive money on a physical level, but you are also and work with the nominal value and watch the money grow. In conditions where we are cut off from nature and its cycles, it is very difficult to understand what seasonal and other pleasures are.

The more free pleasures, the cheaper life costs us, the more we and our children understand the reality around us.

Family budget
Picture: santander.com

As part of the percentage budget, you also learn to separate the income and expenses of past periods of the family and the income of the current period, to understand that expenses of the current period should never depend on the income of the current period, and this is achieved only when you have learned to set up the circulation of money in the family, when know exactly the amount of daily working capital.

Who should manage the family budget? This should be done by the one who is better at it or the one who is responsible for running the household, because a “practitioner” will quickly navigate what is needed to maintain the family’s standard of living and react correctly to what is happening.

Probably, women do this most often, although I believe that we all constantly need to learn how to do this. After all, life is changing, what worked a few years ago no longer works today. For example, the transition to digital television in many regions of Russia – if you are not prepared for new types of expenses, you can be left without services that are important to you, etc.

Work from home: a list of the best professions
Work from home: a list of the best professions
10 min read

The money process has its own “biochemistry”. The attitude with which you move money matters a lot because if you regret spending money, it won’t come back to you. And you need to be able to give and share money. That is why in my version of the percentage budget there is such an expense item as “New Year gifts”.

But I wouldn’t take this literally, because the whole point is that this expense item includes all your remaining expenses. If you learn to view them as gifts, there will be more joy in your life. In addition, within this category of expenses, we learn to build our needs and desires in a certain time period, and this triggers the time factor, because we do not need everything at once. And tomorrow the needs may even increase, not to mention the prices, which are still going up over time.

Types of family budget:

  • Joint (the income of all family members is added to a common piggy bank and distributed among common expenses);
  • Separate (each spouse pays common and joint expenses equally, for example, both husband and wife pay equally for kindergarten, apartment, food, etc., everyone spends the rest of their funds as they want ),
  • Shared budget (everyone gives part of the pre-designated funds for general needs, and the remaining amount is spent on themselves).

What rules must be followed when managing a family budget

In addition to the generally accepted “pay yourself first”, namely: saving 10% of family money for the future, there are others. Although even this rule can be changed and taken to a completely different level: we can learn to actually pay ourselves a “salary” for everything we do in order to find other sources of motivation, because dependence on money, like a carrot for a donkey, begins over time irritate and turns life into a chain of the same type of actions, into a routine that does not please and does not develop.

Family budget
Picture: verveacu.com

In short, there is also the “golden ratio” rule for forming food supplies, for example, organizing the movement of food in the refrigerator, as well as the golden rules of family economics such as “nothing extra,” “nothing complicated,” “nothing special,” etc. because life with or without money should be easy.

But the most important rule, in my opinion, is “you cannot take someone else’s property without permission.” This is what our parents and school taught us in childhood, but it is this rule that is constantly violated in the reality around us and undermines the foundations of private property. After all, no one wants in life to be victims of Alice the Fox and Basilio the Cat from the children’s fairy tale about Pinocchio.

An example of budgeting from the life of one family

Expert – Anar Rzayev, expert on creating IT startups and investments:

Family budget is a fine line between newlyweds who have been married for no more than 5 years. At the time of the toast at weddings, the main instructions of elders and parents are: protect the family hearth, be tolerant, find compromises in difficult situations. When it comes to money, many people cannot get out of their comfort zone and start spending without thinking about the future.

I have been married for 10 years, I have a wonderful wife with whom we have gone through many difficult situations and 2 boys, ages 2 and 8 years. My wife, Albina, is on maternity leave, but earns money by selecting and selling tourist packages and issuing visas. In the past I had a travel agency, more than 8 years have passed. At the time when I was just starting out as an entrepreneur, it was difficult to pay salaries to managers, pay office rent and overhead expenses.

How to combine work and study
How to combine work and study
5 min read

Therefore, Albina herself offered to help me, despite the birth of her first son, Rodion. I took courses in tourism at RUDN University, and little by little, as best I could, I taught my wife the basics of regional studies, selection and design of package tours. It was unusual to see my wife at work and at home, but we tried to maintain subordination. 8 years have passed, I sold the travel agency a long time ago, but Albina is still selling tours to her large client base. I don’t drive my wife to work; she is free to move and takes care of raising the children in my absence.

I’m not used to sitting in an office and developing my business areas, constantly testing new ideas and hypotheses, which take up to 15% of my monthly income, but it’s worth it, since I’m investing in the future of my family. Albina has never condemned my actions, and this does not affect family relationships in any way.

What is the saving of the family budget? We never take out loans, don’t pledge anything, we’d rather get by or save up for a major purchase (real estate, car). This is my personal decision, since being in debt to someone for something is not for me. Albina supports me in this. Up to 30% of income is spent on groceries and food, I won’t say that we don’t go to cafes and food courts – it happens, but not every day. Many young couples believe that having a child will cost a lot of money. Here’s how you look at it. You can dress your child in everything new, don’t buy things from expensive brands for him to grow up, and take him to play areas and a movie theater every day. In this vein, the costs are high. But it is possible to save both on clothes and on leisure time.

How to save your family budget? Listen to the opinions of your elders, they definitely won’t give bad advice. The younger generation is not used to counting money and planning a budget. This is closer to our parents and grandfathers. Now is a different time, life is more stable than in the 90s. There are many courses on personal and family finances, drawing up plans, calculation schemes, you can also find free materials and adopt a little templates for your family budget.
Article rating
0.0
0 Ratings
Rate this article
Galina Ostrikova
Galina Ostrikova
Please write your opinion on this topic:
avatar
  Comment notifications  
Notify of
Content Rate it Comments
Share

Как вести семейный бюджет: реальные советы и пример из жизни одной семьи

Обновлено:
Время чтения: 10 мин
Как вести семейный бюджет: реальные советы и пример из жизни одной семьи
Фото: my-life.lu
Поделиться

Галина Острикова, автор книг по финансовой грамотности, ведущий частную практику и Анар Рзаев, эксперт по созданию IT стартапов и инвестициям расскажут, как правильно управлять семейным бюджетом.

Эксперт — Галина Острикова, автор книг по финансовой грамотности:

Все сегодня понимают необходимость считать свои деньги, вести бюджет и делать сбережения на будущее. Но не все знают и умеют это делать, потому что традиционный подход к балансированию доходов и расходов ничего не дает, а только усугубляет ситуацию если в семье не очень большой доход, если есть один или несколько детей, если какой-то член семьи не работает, если есть кредиты или ипотека и т.п.

Вы можете просто посчитать свои расходы и доходы, чтобы осознать, что финансовая ситуация требует коррекции, требует изменений, которые необходимо проводить как можно скорее. Возможно, вы даже сможете найти реальные способы экономии в рамках имеющегося бюджета, но что дальше, ведь инфляцию никто не отменял.

Дополнительный заработок — как, на чем и где его найти
Дополнительный заработок — как, на чем и где его найти
Время чтения: 10 мин

А исходя из существующих цен на товары и услуги, кучка денег, которую вы пытаетесь распределить по видам расходов, очень быстро закончится, и вы поймете, что очень на многое денег все равно не хватает, потому что дело не в расходах, а в умении настраивать оборот денег в отдельно взятой семье.

Мне нравится такой подход, потому что он позволяет , во-первых, определить свои уровни выживания и процветания, чтобы иметь некий коридор, в рамках которого вы живете и действуете, который формирует вашу безопасность в конкретном данном периоде.

Как составить семейный бюджет

Вы переходите с ведения суммового бюджета на процентный, и тогда все ваши расходы будут на начальном периоде распределяться по четырем категориям расходов: еда, квартира (жилье), отпуск, подарки на Новый год в таких пропорциях: 30, 30, 10, 30%. Это в том случае, если у вас нет кредитов. Если они у вас есть, то перераспределение процентов внутри бюджета идет в соответствии с 5 категориями расходов. И вы исходите из конкретной жизненной ситуации.

Family budget
Фото: cashfloat.co.uk

Процентное соотношение расходов бюджета – это вопрос внутренней свободы каждого конкретного человека, поэтому здесь есть огромные возможности для саморазвития и предпринимательства.

Планирование семейного бюджета – не вопрос распределения имеющихся ресурсов, это задача организации оборота денег внутри семьи. Я уже об этом говорила, и еще раз повторю, потому что это важно, ведь в процессе управления семейным бюджетом, вы учитесь формировать необходимые финансовые привычки, причем не только свои, но и всех членов семьи, потому что мы все – заложники определенных моделей поведения своих родителей, и в основном тех, у кого не было большого количества денег в обороте или другого имущества.

Сегодня это даже преимущество, потому что мы можем использовать свой творческий потенциал для того, чтобы жить лучше. И отсутствие свободных денег может стать преимуществом.

Интересно! Популярные программы для ведения семейного бюджета: Дзен-мани, Monefy, EasyFinance, Toshl, CoinKeeper, 1Money. Доступны на Google Play и App Store

Мы часто находимся в рамках искусственного дефицита денег, а любой дефицит ресурсов только порождает творчество. Давайте вспомним о том, что в советские времена при отсутствии ресурсов было создано много чего любопытного и интересного. Но я не об этом хотела сказать, хотя это очень важный момент в отношении денег. Деньги – это идея, и чем больше идей человек умеет находить и применять, тем к большему количеству ресурсов он имеет доступ.

Как заработать деньги в интернете: рассмотрим главные методы и приёмы
Как заработать деньги в интернете: рассмотрим главные методы и приёмы
Время чтения: 11 мин

Вернемся к формированию хороших привычек. Возможно, вы уже знаете об этом, но я считаю, что в вопросах управления семейным бюджетом все начинается с копилки, со стеклянной банки, в которую вы начинаете складывать мелочь. Прозрачность всех финансовых операций имеет первостепенное значение, потому что люди должны научиться наблюдать за тем, что происходит с нашими деньгами, как работает фактор притяжения денег.

Я понимаю, что сегодня многие люди почти не пользуются наличными деньгами, но, если денег не хватает, то «игра» с наличностью может дать вам возможность моделирования новой финансовой реальности, потому что вы не только на физическом уровне учитесь воспринимать деньги, но вы еще и работаете с номиналом и наблюдаете за ростом денег. В условиях, когда мы оторваны от природы и от ее циклов, очень трудно понимать, в чем заключаются сезонные и не только удовольствия.

Чем больше бесплатных удовольствий, тем дешевле нам обходиться жизнь, тем больше мы и наши дети познаем окружающую нас реальность.

Family budget
Фото: santander.com

В рамках процентного бюджета вы также учитесь разделять доходы и расходы прошлых периодов семьи и доходы текущего периода, понимать, что расходы текущего периода никогда не должны зависеть от доходов текущего периода, а это достигается только тогда, когда вы научились настраивать оборот денег в семье, когда точно знаете сумму ежедневных оборотных средств.

Кто должен заниматься ведением семейного бюджета? Этим заниматься должен тот, у кого это больше получается или тот, кто отвечает за ведение домашнего хозяйства, потому что «практик» быстрее будет ориентироваться в том, что нужно для поддержания жизненного уровня семьи и правильно реагировать на то, что происходит.

Наверное, чаще всего этим занимаются женщины, хотя я считаю, что нам всем постоянно надо учиться это делать. Ведь жизнь меняется, что работало несколько лет назад, уже не работает сегодня. Например, переход на цифровое телевидение во многих регионах России — если не быть готовым к новым видам расходов, можно остаться без значимых для себя услуг и т.п.

Работа из дома: список лучших профессий
Работа из дома: список лучших профессий
Время чтения: 10 мин

У денежного процесса есть своя «биохимия». То, с каким отношением происходит движение денег, имеет большое значение, потому что если вы жалеете о том, что тратите деньги, то они к вам не вернутся. И деньги надо уметь отдавать и делиться. Именно поэтому в моем варианте процентного бюджета есть такая статья расходов как «подарки на Новый год».

Но я бы не стала понимать это буквально, потому что все дело в том, что в эту статью расходов у вас попадают все оставшиеся расходы. Если вы научитесь их рассматривать как подарки, радости в вашей жизни прибавится. Кроме того, в рамках этой категории расходов мы учимся выстраивать свои потребности и желания в определенном временном периоде, а это запускает работу фактора времени, потому что нам не нужно все и сразу. И завтра потребности могут даже увеличиваться, не говоря уже о ценах, которые все равно идут вверх с течением времени.

Виды семейного бюджета:

  • Совместный (складываются доходы всех членов семьи в общую копилку и распределяются на общие расходы);
  • Раздельный (каждый супруг оплачивает расходы общего и совместного характера поровну, например, и муж и жена поровну платят за детский сад, квартиру, еду и т.д., остаток своих средств каждый тратит как хочет),
  • Долевой бюджет (каждый отдает часть заранее обозначенных средств на общие потребности, а оставшуюся сумму тратят на себя).

Какие правила надо соблюдать при ведении семейного бюджета

Кроме общепринятого – «плати сначала себе», а именно: откладывания 10% семейных денег на будущее, есть и другие. Хотя даже это правило можно изменить и вывести на совершенно другой уровень: мы можем научиться реально платить себе «заработную» плату за все , что мы делаем, чтобы найти другие источники мотивации, ведь зависимость от денег, как от морковки для ослика, со временем начинает раздражать и превращает жизнь в цепочку однотипных действий, в рутину, которая не радует и не развивает.

Family budget
Фото: verveacu.com

Короче, есть еще правило «золотого сечения» для формирования запасов продуктов питания, например, организация движения продуктов в холодильнике, а также золотые правила семейной экономики типа «ничего лишнего», «ничего сложного», «ничего специального» и т.д., потому что жизнь с деньгами или без них должна быть легкой.

Но самое главное правило, на мой взгляд – это «чужое нельзя брать без разрешения». Это то, чему учили нас в детстве родители и школа, но именно это правило постоянно нарушается в окружающей нас действительности и подрывает основы частной собственности. Ведь никто не хочет в жизни оказаться жертвами Лисы Алисы и Кота Базилио из детской сказки про Буратино.

Пример ведения бюджета из жизни одной семьи

Эксперт — Анар Рзаев, эксперт по созданию IT стартапов и инвестициям:

Семейный бюджет — тонкая грань между молодоженами, прожившими не более 5 лет в браке. В момент тоста на свадьбах, основные наставления старших и родителей: оберегать семейный очаг, быть терпимыми, находить компромиссы в сложных ситуациях. В случаях, когда дело касается денег, многие не могут выйти из зоны комфорта и начинают тратить, не задумываясь о будущем.

Я в браке 10 лет, у меня прекрасная супруга с которой мы прошли много сложных ситуаций и 2 мальчика, возрастом 2 и 8 лет. Супруга — Альбина в декрете, но зарабатывает путем подбора и продажи туристических путевок и оформлением виз. В прошлом у меня было туристическое агентство, прошло более 8 лет. В то время, когда я только начинал путь предпринимателя, было сложно выплачивать зарплату менеджерам, оплачивать аренду офиса и накладные расходы.

Как совмещать работу и учебу
Как совмещать работу и учебу
Время чтения: 5 мин

Поэтому Альбина сама предложила мне помочь, несмотря на рождение первого сына Родиона. Я прошел обучение на курсах туризма в РУДН, и понемногу, как мог обучал супругу основам страноведения, подбору и оформлению пакетных туров. Было непривычно видеться с супругой на работе и дома, но мы старались держать субординацию. Прошло 8 лет, я давным-давно продал туристическое агентство, ну а Альбина до сих пор продает туры своей большой клиентской базе. Я не гоню супругу на работу, она свободна в перемещениях и занимается воспитанием детей в мое отсутствие.

Я не привык сидеть в офисе и развиваю свои направления в бизнесе, постоянно тестирую новые идеи и гипотезы, которые отнимают до 15% ежемесячного дохода, но это стоит того, так как я инвестирую в будущее своей семьи. Альбина ни разу не осуждала мои действия, и на семейные отношения это ни коем образом не влияет.

В чем заключается экономия семейного бюджета? Мы никогда не берем кредиты, не сдаем ничего в залог, лучше перебьемся или накопим на крупную покупку (недвижимость, автомобиль). Это лично мое решение, так как быть должным куму-то за что-то не по мне. В этом Альбина меня поддерживает. До 30% дохода уходит на продукты и питание, не скажу, что не ходим в кафе и фудкорты — бывает, но не ежедневно. Многие молодые пары считают, что на ребенка будут большие денежные затраты. Здесь, с какой стороны посмотреть. Ребенка можно одевать во все новое, не покупать вещи на вырост дорогих брендов, ежедневно водить в игровые зоны и кинотеатр. В таком ключе расходы велики. Но возможно экономить как на одежде, так и на досуге.

Как сэкономить семейный бюджет? Прислушивайтесь к мнению старших, плохого они точно не посоветуют. Молодое поколение не привыкло считать деньги и планировать бюджет. Это ближе нашим родителям и дедам. Сейчас другое время, жизнь более стабильна, чем в 90-ых. Есть множество курсов по личным и семейным финансам, составлению планов, расчетных схем, можно найти и бесплатные материалы и немного перенять шаблоны на свой семейный бюджет.
Рейтинг статьи
0,0
Оценок: 0
Оцените эту статью
Галина Острикова
Галина Острикова
Напишите, пожалуйста, свое мнение по этой теме:
avatar
  Уведомления о комментариях  
Уведомить о
Содержание Оценить Комментарии
Поделиться