Nicolas Cage: biography of an ambitious actor

Updated:
5 min read
Nicolas Cage: biography of an ambitious actor
Nicolas Kim Coppola. Picture: Cellai Stefano | Dreamstime
Share

Born Nicolas Cage (Nicholas Kim Coppola) January 7, 1964 in California, in a very intelligent family. His father is a literature professor and writer, and his mother was a choreographer.

Nicolas Cage is a rebel in the acting world, who, it seems, was destined to become a famous actor. After all, the family gave him opportunities, judge for yourself – his aunt was Thalia Shire – twice nominated for an Oscar, and his father’s brother Auguste Coppola – the same legendary Francis Ford Coppola, who gave the world the wonderful trilogy “The Godfather”, which became a cult picture of that time.

The beginning of a career

Nicholas started playing at the age of 14, when he played the main role in the play “The Golden Boy” by Cliff Odets. Even then, the excellent game of still a teenager Nicholas was noted, and a promising future was predicted for him. He was so eager to build a career in cinema that at the age of 17, after graduating from school, he immediately went to Hollywood.

Brand Ambassador: who is it and how to become one
Brand Ambassador: who is it and how to become one
10 min read

And the first thing Nick decided to do there was to change his last name. He did not want to be selected for the role only because of family ties, and was going to achieve recognition only because of his abilities. And already after his first film, he thought about the name Blue, but still chose the Cage option. Why? He explained this by saying that he really liked the character of Marvel comics, whose name was that, and, by the way, Nick is very passionate about comics all his life – in 2002 he acquired a collection of 400 old editions for a rather large sum – 1.6 million dollars. And in 2007, Cage even created his own comic book series with his son called Voodoo Baby.

The first roles in the series did not bring him great popularity, and he did not pass the castings for the films The Outcasts and Risky Business, but gradually gained experience, for example, in the film Peggy Sue Gets Married, he superbly played the father of a girl who was almost the same age.

Nicolas Cage
Nicolas Cage. Photo: Cellai Stefano | Dreamtime

To some extent, we can be grateful to Nicolas Cage for the fact that it was he who pushed the unknown boy from the Kids group, Johnny Depp, to go to the movies. Nick met him when he met Lori Ann Alison. Cage was captivated by Depp’s colorfulness, and he had not even thought about an acting career before. Nicholas gave him his agent’s number, and that’s how Johnny Depp began his rise to fame in the film industry.

Cage’s acting activity is gaining momentum

Nicholas, despite his young age, shone in Hollywood. Already in the late 80s, a well-deserved success began to come to him – the film “Raising Arizona” (1987) became a springboard to fame for both the Coen brothers and Cage, whose game was highly appreciated, because not everyone can play a schizophrenic.

In the same year, he starred in the film, which received three Oscars – “In the power of the moon”, but women received more attention there. But Nicholas began to be considered the most promising young actor. He constantly shocked everyone with his unusual character, and the way he speaks. Many still do not know whether he plays in life or not. Cage believes that it is as honest as possible to try to perform as many stunts in the film himself, and in some ways he is really right.

Renault: the story of a legendary company
Renault: the story of a legendary company
7 min read

The actor starred in a very large number of films that brought him both fame and unflattering reviews, he developed a reputation as an actor who does not really choose roles. But still, no one will dispute his talent.

One of the successful films for Nick was “Leaving Las Vegas”, for which he received the highest award for an actor – an Oscar for the main role. And although critics say that his game in this film is not very different from the game in other films, this rather indicates that he realizes his talent in full, he just received recognition for this film.

And his film “The Rock” made him a real star, thanks to which they learned about the actor better in Russia. Playing in different films either bad guys, or an angel or even twins, Nicholas only proved how versatile his talent is. A few more successful films with his participation: “No Face”, “Twin Towers”, “Gone in 60 Seconds”.

Actor’s personal life

Cage has a son, Weston, who became a musician, and the actor himself was never married to his mother. Rumor has it that he had affairs with Penelope Cruz and Angelina Jolie, but they were insignificant.

Nicolas was married 3 times. His first marriage to Patricia Arquette was unsuccessful, as they constantly quarreled, but nevertheless lived for 6 years with a stamp in their passport. With Lisa Marie Presley, he completely divorced after 4 months, and believes that it was not necessary to marry her.

And his third wife, Kal-Elem, a former waitress, still lives with him, and they are happily married. They met by chance at a sushi bar. After the marriage, a son appeared, whose name is Kal-El, for which the actor is reproached as the parent of an offspring with a ridiculous name. Well, let him not worry about it.

Netflix: Cool Shows You Can Watch Right Now
Netflix: Cool Shows You Can Watch Right Now
13 min read

But not only roles in the movie became famous Cage. The world-famous tax scandal will be mentioned in the press for a long time to come. As you know, the actor is very wasteful, and loves to spend money on expensive things, Rolls-Royces, of which he has countless, and real estate. In 2019, he was sued for tax evasion, as a result he lost some of his houses and took on any job for several years in order to quickly cover all his debts. But he was able to avoid a prison term, because he convinced the court that he did not pay taxes not intentionally, but because of his own inattention, which does not make him a criminal.

Now in the life of Nicolas Cage, everything is getting better, and, apparently, we are waiting for a lot of new projects with his participation.

Article rating
0.0
0 Ratings
Rate this article
Ratmir Belov
Please write your opinion on this topic:
avatar
  Comment notifications  
Notify of
Ratmir Belov
Read my other articles:
Content Rate it Comments
Share

Николас Кейдж: биография амбициозного актера

Время чтения: 5 мин
Николас Кейдж: биография амбициозного актера
Nicolas Kim Coppola. Фото: Cellai Stefano | Dreamstime
Поделиться

Родился Николас Кейдж (Николас Ким Кополла) 7 января 1964 в штате Калифорния, в весьма интеллигентной семье. Отец — профессор литературы и писатель, а мать была хореографом.

Николас Кейдж – бунтарь в актёрском мире, которому, кажется, на роду было написано стать известным актёром. Ведь семья давала ему возможности, посудите сами – тётей его была Талия Шайр – дважды номинированная на Оскар, а родной брат его отца Огюста Кополлы – тот самый легендарный Френсис Форд Кополла, который подарил миру прекрасную трилогию «Крёстный отец», ставшую культовой картиной того времени.

Начало карьерной деятельности

Начал играть Николас уже в 14 лет, когда исполнял в пьесе «Золотой мальчик» Клиффа Одетса главную роль. Уже тогда была отмечена отличная игра ещё подростка Николаса, и ему пророчили перспективное будущее. Он так стремился построить карьеру в кинематографе, что в 17 лет, окончив школу, сразу же поехал в Голливуд.

Джейсон Стейтем — брутальный с детства
Джейсон Стейтем — брутальный с детства
Время чтения: 6 мин
Ратмир Белов
Журналист-райтер

И первое, что Ник там решил сделать – изменить свою фамилию. Он не хотел, чтобы его отбирали на роль только из-за родственных связей, и собирался добиться признания только благодаря своим способностям. И уже после своего первого фильма думал о фамилии Блю, но всё-таки выбрал вариант Кейдж. Почему? Он объяснял это тем, что ему очень нравился персонаж комиксов Marvel, которого так звали, и, к слову, Ник весьма увлечён комиксами всю свою жизнь – в 2002 он приобрёл коллекцию из 400 старых изданий за весьма немаленькую сумму – 1,6 млн долларов. А в 2007 Кейдж даже создал свою серию комиксов со своим сыном, под названием «Ребенок Вуду».

Первые роли в сериалах не принесли ему большой популярности, а кастинги на фильмы «Изгои» и «Рискованный бизнес» он не прошёл, но постепенно набирал опыт, к примеру, в фильме «Пегги Сью выходит замуж» великолепно сыграл отца девушки, бывшей ему почти ровесницей.

Николас Кейдж. Фото: Cellai Stefano | Dreamstime

В некоторой степени мы можем быть благодарны Николасу Кейджу за то, что именно он подтолкнул неизвестного мальчишку из группы «Kids», Джонни Деппа пойти в кино. Познакомился Ник с ним, когда встречался с Лори Энн Элисон. Кейдж был покорен колоритностью Деппа, а тот ранее даже не задумывался об актёрской карьере. Николас дал ему номер своего агента, и так Джонни Депп положил начало своему восхождению к славе в киноиндустрии.

Актерская деятельность Кейджа набирает обороты

Николас, несмотря на молодой возраст, блистал в Голливуде. Уже в конце 80-тых к нему начал приходить заслуженный успех — картина «Воспитание Аризоны» (1987) стала трамплином к славе и для братьев Коэнов, и для Кейджа, игру которого оценили очень высоко, ведь сыграть шизофреника далеко не каждому под силу.

В этом же году он снялся в картине, которая получила три Оскара – «Во власти Луны», но там больше внимания получили женщины. Зато Николаса стали считать самым перспективным молодым актёром. Он постоянно потрясал всех своим необычным характером, и тем, как он говорит. Многие до сих пор не знают, играет ли он в жизни или нет. Кейдж считает, что максимально честно – пытаться исполнить как можно больше трюков в фильме самому, и в чем-то он действительно прав.

Актёр снялся в очень большом количестве фильмов, принёсших ему, как славу, так и нелестные отзывы, за ним сложилась репутация актера, который не очень выбирает роли. Но все же, никто не оспорит его талант.

Одним из удачных фильмов для Ника стал «Покидая Лас-Вегас», за который он получил высшую награду для актёра – Оскар за главную роль. И хотя критики говорят, что его игра в этом фильме не особо отличается от игры в других картинах, это скорее свидетельствует о том, что он реализует талант сполна, просто признание получил именно за этот фильм.

Николь Кидман — великолепная актриса и просто красавица
Николь Кидман — великолепная актриса и просто красавица
Время чтения: 6 мин
Ратмир Белов
Журналист-райтер

А настоящей звездой сделал его фильм «Скала» благодаря которому об актёре узнали лучше и в России. Играя в разных фильмах то плохих парней, то ангела или даже близнецов, Николас лишь доказывал, насколько многогранен его талант. Ещё несколько удачных картин с его участием: «Без лица», «Башни-близнецы», «Угнать за 60 секунд».

Личная жизнь актёра

У Кейджа есть сын Вестон, который стал музыкантом, а сам актёр на его матери женат так и не был. Ходят слухи, что у него были романы и с Пенелопой Круз и Анжелиной Джоли, но они были несущественны.

Женат был Николас 3 раза. Первый его брак с Патрицией Аркетт был неудачным, так как они постоянно ссорились, но тем не менее прожили 6 лет с печатью в паспорте. С Лизой Мари Пресли он и вовсе развёлся спустя 4 месяца, и считает, что не нужно было на ней жениться.

А третья его жена – Каль-Элем, бывшая официантка, до сих пор живёт с ним, и они счастливы в браке. Познакомились они случайно в суши-баре. После женитьбы появился сын, имя которого Каль-Эль, за что актёра упрекают как родителя отпрыска с нелепым именем. Ну и пусть, вряд ли он об этом беспокоится.

Моника Беллуччи: биография голливудской красавицы
Моника Беллуччи: биография голливудской красавицы
Время чтения: 5 мин
Ратмир Белов
Журналист-райтер

Но не только ролями в кино прославился Кейдж. Известный во всём мире скандал с налогами ещё долго будут упоминать в прессе. Как известно, актёр весьма расточителен, и любит тратить средства на дорогие вещи, Роллс-Ройсы, которых у него несчитанное количество, и недвижимость. В 2019 году на него грянул иск в суд за неуплату налогов, в итоге он лишился некоторых домов и в течение нескольких лет брался за любую работу, дабы быстрее покрыть все долги. Но он смог избежать тюремного срока, поскольку убедил суд в том, что не уплачивал налоги не намеренно, а из-за собственной невнимательности, что не делает его преступником.

Сейчас в жизни Николаса Кейджа всё наладилось наладилось, и, судя по всему, нас ждёт немало новых проектов с его участием.

Рейтинг статьи
0,0
Оценок: 0
Оцените эту статью
Ратмир Белов
Напишите, пожалуйста, свое мнение по этой теме:
avatar
  Уведомления о комментариях  
Уведомить о
Ратмир Белов
Читайте другие мои статьи:
Содержание Оценить Комментарии
Поделиться

Вам также может понравиться

Том Харди: биография дерзкого актера
Время чтения: 6 мин
5.0
(1)
Ратмир Белов
Журналист-райтер
7 причудливых фактов о Джонни Деппе
Время чтения: 4 мин
Ратмир Белов
Журналист-райтер

Выбор редакции