Cosmetologist about the dangers of Botox and fillers

6 min read
Cosmetologist about the dangers of Botox and fillers
Picture: hkplasticsurgery.com
Share

In pursuit of beauty and youth, women at all times went to any lengths to manipulate their appearance.

In our modern times, cosmetology offers many anti-aging options, but invasive methods are among the most popular due to their quick effect. Worldwide, an average of about 9 million Botox injections and 5 million fillers are performed each year.

But, unfortunately, such interventions do not pass without a trace, and I would like to talk about all the negative consequences of Botox and filler injections known today. Why “known”, because the topic has not been fully studied and the long-term consequences can only be assumed.

The dangers of Botox

Botox is an injection of botulinum toxin subcutaneously or intramuscularly to paralyze muscles.

Note, paralyze, not relax, as we usually hear. After all, muscle paralysis sounds much more scary and repulsive, and marketing doesn’t sleep.

Botulinum toxins, generally speaking, with proper administration technique and adequate doses, are safe, but botulinum therapy is not without its drawbacks and risks.

Cosmetic esthetician talks about the sad consequences of Botox
Cosmetic esthetician talks about the sad consequences of Botox
5 min read
Yulia Chuprikova
Physiognomist. Cosmetic esthetician

The main purpose for which botulinum toxin is used in aesthetic cosmetology is wrinkle reduction. But! By blocking one muscle, another compensatory load takes on itself. And next to the old wrinkle that you wanted to get rid of, others may appear. Agree, it’s not very pleasant.

Botox disables the muscle, which is already in spasm (in fact, this is what causes creases and wrinkles more often). And pumping the next dose over and over again, it atrophies, blood circulation is disrupted, and it subsequently creeps down uncontrollably.

And another equally significant reason is impaired lymph flow and swelling. The lymph pumps due to the contraction of neighboring muscles, but after Botox they do not contract, there is no one to push the lymph, stagnation occurs, and as a result, swelling.

Hence, for example, headaches after Botox injections. Of course, after the first procedure, you may not feel all the “delights”, but with systematic injections you will.

Contraindications for Botox injection

Botox is contraindicated, which is mentioned more than once at conferences of plastic surgery and medical cosmetology, for autoimmune diseases, for example, autoimmune thyroiditis. Botulinum toxin injections can not only aggravate the course of autoimmune diseases, but also cause them.

Harm from botox and fillers
Picture: instyle.com

People who often receive botulinum toxin injections complain that Botox does not work for them as well as before. If you look at scientific data, it becomes clear why this is possible. In response to the introduction of a toxin, antibodies (Nabs) are synthesized to counteract it. And over time, immunogenicity—resistance to the toxin—can occur.

What is noteworthy is that the production of Nabs antibodies is not related to the frequency of injections, but to the dose and depth of administration. And it increases when administered in large doses or subcutaneously (for example, for hyperhidrosis around the eyes).

Undesirable consequences of botulinum toxin include drooping eyebrows, asymmetry, triangular eyebrows, rarely strabismus and migraines (although Botulinum toxin is used in the treatment of migraines).

Botulism due to Botox injection

Often after Botox, an immune response occurs in the form of a flu-like syndrome (sore throat, muscle weakness, headache, slight fever). This is microbotulism in a very mild form. They talked about this back in 2005. Symptoms go away on their own over time without treatment, it doesn’t happen to everyone, but it makes life very difficult and reduces productivity.

Many people are also interested in the question: is it possible to get botulism after the aesthetic injection of botulinum toxin? Until recently, this hypothesis was ridiculed, but recently such information has become increasingly common in popular major scientific publications. Moreover, previously the main argument for “ridiculing” was “we are not administering horse doses,” but now information appears about the risk of botulism in doses of 6 units.

Negative consequences of fillers

Fillers are heavy artillery in the hands of a cosmetologist. Touted as a safe and simple alternative to surgery. And Nose, lips, cheekbones, nasolacrimal groove, a hundred problems, one solution – filler. Having interfered with the harmony of the face, the desire to change something still grows like a snowball.

Enlarged lips provoke the appearance of nasolabial folds; as a result, filled nasolabial lips give the effect of a too flat, heavy face. Then I want to add volume to the cheekbones and make the chin longer, the paint bags have become pronounced – let’s add a dose to the nasal tear… The endless struggle for beauty.

Beauty injections: pitfalls of invasive procedures
Beauty injections: pitfalls of invasive procedures
11 min read
5.0
(1)
Ruslan Abramov
Plastic surgeon

One cannot but worry that more and more young girls with still unstable psyches who are dissatisfied with their appearance are resorting to injections, and marketing insists, “the sooner you start, the better.”

The biggest danger posed by filler is possible ischemia (when the filler enters the vessels and blocks the blood flow) followed by tissue necrosis. Cases of blindness after injections into the nose and nasolacrimal groove can no longer be called rare – more than 100 cases described in the literature.

This “lightness” and imaginary safety of fillers based on hyaluronic acid is given by the belief that they are absolutely biodegradable, and in the case If you don’t like the effect of the injection, there is an antidote – hyaluronidase.

But the problem is that its biodegradation time varies greatly. According to studies MRI showed that fillers stay in tissues from 2 to 12(!) years.

Moreover, the hyaluronic acid itself dissolves, and accordingly the effect of the injection disappears, but the capsule in which the hyaluronic acid was contained remains. The filler can also migrate and distribute in tissues, losing its original effect. What to do? Again I want to replenish the volumes. And so on in a circle. This is where this heavy, puffy face is formed.

In addition, hyaluronic acid has the property of attracting and holding water nearby, aggravating an already pasty face.

Damage to hyaluronidase

As for hyaluronidase, not everything is so simple either. Increasingly, world luminaries of cosmetology are inclined to believe that this enzyme, which is designed to dissolve unsuccessful or boring filler, is not able to distinguish between substances and can corrode and “catch” neighboring living tissues of the face.
Harm from botox and fillers
Picture: schweigerderm.com

There are no large-scale studies on this matter, but there are observations of plastic surgeons who noticed that the SMAS of people who injected hyaluronidase is thinner than usual.

Lip injections are the most popular cosmetic procedure. It is important to know that due to constant filler injections, lips lose their original shape irrevocably over the years.

We often hear about various signature cocktails and lipolytics. A very dubious topic, because their exact composition is unknown to anyone and in the event of unforeseen circumstances, the consequences can be disastrous.

Jolie Angles

The very popular Jolie angles also leave much to be desired. Often the filler migrates lower, and instead of clear cheekbones we end up with a heavy lower third of the face. Especially with deformation and fatigue types of aging, fillers aggravate the situation.

If you still decide to introduce filler, it is very important to choose a good doctor who knows the anatomy of the face, explains the possible risks, and uses high-quality and original drugs.

I admit the existence of injections, I have a normal attitude towards the choice of any person, I do not dissuade anyone, I only present scientific data, possible risks, and call for awareness. The main thing is measure.

Unfortunately, we do not have a single center for collecting information about complications and side effects. It is difficult for victims to reach the scientific community.

Proving the systemic impact of invasive procedures is difficult, but local aesthetic complications are undeniable. The number of victims is growing, and information, fortunately, reaches potential clients, who can weigh everything more objectively and decide whether these risks are justified.
Article rating
0.0
0 Ratings
Rate this article
Aset Khamkhoeva
Aset Khamkhoeva
Please write your opinion on this topic:
avatar
  Comment notifications  
Notify of
Content Rate it Comments
Share

Editor's Choice

Expert review of the main types of eating behavior
7 min read
5.0
(1)
Liana Valeeva
Expert in weight management and eating psychology
Should you put ice on your face? An expert on the effects of cold on the skin
7 min read
5.0
(2)
Natalia Lesnova
Natalia Lesnova
Founder of a natural skincare brand, PhD

Врач-косметолог о вреде ботокса и филлеров

Время чтения: 6 мин
Врач-косметолог о вреде ботокса и филлеров
Фото: hkplasticsurgery.com
Поделиться

В погоне за красотой и молодостью, женщины во все времена шли на любые манипуляции с внешностью.

В нашу современность косметология предлагает много анти-эйдж вариантов, но инвазивные методы являются одними из самых популярных в силу их быстрого эффекта. Во всем мире каждый год проводится в среднем около 9 миллионов инъекций ботокса и 5 миллионов филлеров.

Но, к сожалению, такие вмешательства не проходят бесследно и хотелось бы рассказать обо всех негативных последствиях от уколов ботокса и филлеров, известных на сегодняшний день. Почему «известных», потому что тема до конца не изучена и пролонгированные последствия можно только предполагать.

Опасность ботокса

Ботокс — это инъекции ботулотоксина подкожно или внутримышечно для того, чтобы парализовать мышцы.

Заметьте, парализовать, а не расслабить, как обычно мы слышим. Ведь паралич мышцы звучит гораздо страшнее и отталкивающе, а маркетинг не дремлет.

Ботулотоксины, если говорить в общем, при грамотной технике введения и адекватных дозах — безопасны, но ботулинотерапия не лишена недостатков и рисков.

Косметик эстетист о печальных последствиях ботокса
Косметик эстетист о печальных последствиях ботокса
Время чтения: 5 мин
Юлия Чуприкова
Юлия Чуприкова
Косметик эстетист по лицу

Основная цель, с которой используют ботулотоксин в эстетической косметологии — это сокращение морщин. Но! блокируя какую-то мышцу, другая компенсаторно нагрузку берет на себя. И рядом со старой морщины, от которой хотели избавиться, могут появиться другие. Согласитесь, не очень приятно.

Ботокс отключает мышцу, которая и так спазмирована (собственно, из-за чего и происходит чаще залом и морщина). И закачивая очередную дозу из раза в раз, она атрофируется, нарушается кровообращение, она бесконтрольно впоследствии ползёт вниз.

А ещё одна не менее весомая причина — нарушение лимфотока и отеки. Лимфа качается за счет сокращения соседних мышц, а они-то после ботокса не сокращаются, лимфу толкать некому, происходит застой, а как следствие, отеки.

Отсюда, например, и головные боли после инъекций ботокса. Конечно, после первой процедуры, вы можете не почувствовать всех «прелестей», но при систематических инъекциях вполне.

Противопоказания к введению ботокса

Ботокс противопоказан, что не раз упоминается на конференциях пластической хирургии и мед косметологии, при аутоиммунных заболеваниях, например, аутоиммунный тиреоидит. Инъекции ботулотоксина могут не только усугубить течение аутоиммунных, но и вызвать их.

Harm from botox and fillers
Фото: instyle.com

Люди, часто получающие инъекции ботулотоксина, жалуются, что ботокс их уже не берет, как раньше. Если обратиться к научным данным, становится понятным, почему это возможно. В ответ на введение токсина синтезируется антитела (Nabs) для противодействия ему. И со временем может возникнуть иммуногенность — устойчивость к токсину.

Что примечательно, выработка антител Nabs связана не с частотой инъекций, а с дозой и глубиной введения. И она усиливается при введении в больших дозах или подкожно (например, от гипергидроза вокруг глаз).

Нежелательными последствиями ботулотоксина можно назвать и опущение бровей, асимметрия, треугольные брови, редко косоглазие и мигрень (хотя Ботулотоксин используется в терапии мигрени).

Ботулизм из-за введения ботокса

Нередко после ботокса возникает иммунный ответ в виде гриппоподобного синдрома (боль в горле, мышечная слабость, головная боль, небольшое повышение температуры). Это микроботулизм в очень легкой форме. Об этом говорили еще в 2005 г. Проходят симптомы через время сами без лечения, случается не со всеми, но очень осложняет жизнь, снижает работоспособность.

Еще многих интересует вопрос — возможно ли заболеть ботулизмом после эстетического введения ботулотоксина? Еще недавно эта гипотеза высмеивалась, но в последнее время в популярных крупных научных изданиях все чаще встречается такая информация. Причем ранее главным аргументом «высмеивания» было «не лошадиные же дозы вводим», то сейчас появляется информация риска ботулизма в дозах от 6 единиц.

Негативные последствия филлеров

Филлеры — это тяжелая артиллерия в руках косметолога. Преподносится как безопасная и простая альтернатива хирургическим вмешательствам. И Нос, губы, скулы, носослезная борозда, сто проблем одно решение — филлер. Вмешавшись в гармонию лица, желание что то изменить еще нарастает как снежный ком.

Увеличенные губ провоцируют возникновение носогубных складок, как следствие заполненные носогубки дают эффект слишком плоского тяжелого лица. Затем хочется добавить объем скулам и сделать подбородок длиннее, малярные мешки стали выраженные — добавим и в носослезку дозу… Бесконечная борьба за красоту.

Уколы красоты: подводные камни инвазивных процедур
Уколы красоты: подводные камни инвазивных процедур
Время чтения: 11 мин
5.0
(1)
Руслан Абрамов
Пластический хирург

Не может не беспокоить, что к инъекциям прибегают все больше молодых девушек с еще неустойчивой психикой, которые недовольны своей внешностью, а маркетинг твердит, «чем раньше начнешь, тем лучше».

Самая большая опасность, которую несет филлер, это возможная ишемия (когда филлер попадает в сосуды, перекрывает кровоток) с последующим некрозом тканей. Уже не назовешь редкими случаи слепоты после инъекций в нос и носослезную борозду — более 100 случаев, описанных в литературе.

Эту «легкость» и мнимую безопасность филлерам на основе гиалуроновой кислоты придают убеждения о том, что они абсолютно биодеградируемы, а в случае, если не понравится эффект от укола, есть противоядие — гиалуронидаза.

Но проблема в том, что срок его биоразложения очень варьируется. Согласно исследованиям МРТ показало, что филлеры держатся в тканях от 2-х до 12(!) лет.

Причем сама гиалуроновая кислота рассасывается, соответственно и эффект от инъекции исчезает, а капсула, в которой и была гиалуроновая кислота, остается. Филлер также может мигрировать и распределяться в тканях, теряя первоначальный эффект. Что делать? Снова хочется восполнить объемы. И так по кругу. Отсюда и образуется это тяжелое, одутловатое лицо.

К тому же, гиалуроновая кислота имеет свойство притягивать и удерживать рядом воду, усугубляя и без того пастозное лицо.

Вред гиалуронидазы

Что касается гиалуронидазы тоже не все так однозначно. Все чаще мировые светила косметологии склоняются к мнению, что этот фермент, который призван рассасывать неудачный или надоевший филлер, не способен различать субстанции и может разъесть и «зацепить» и соседние живые ткани лица.
Harm from botox and fillers
Фото: schweigerderm.com

Нет масштабных исследований на этот счет, но есть наблюдения пластических хирургов, которые заметили что SMAS людей, вводивших гиалуронидазу, тоньше чем обычно.

Инъекции в губы — это самая популярная косметологическая процедура. Важно знать, что из-за постоянных инъекций филлера губы с годами утрачивают свою первоначальную форму безвозвратно.

Часто слышим про различные авторские коктейли, липолитики. Очень сомнительная тема, ведь их точный состав никому неизвестен и в случае непредвиденных обстоятельств, последствия могут быть плачевными.

Углы Джоли

Очень популярные углы Джоли тоже оставляют желать лучшего. Часто филлер мигрирует ниже, и вместо четких скул получаем тяжелую нижнюю треть лица. Особенно при деформационном и усталом типах старения филлеры усугубляют ситуацию.

Если все-таки принято решение ввести филлер, очень важно выбрать хорошего врача, который знает анатомию лица, объяснит возможные риски, использует качественные и оригинальные препараты.

Я допускаю существование инъекций, нормально отношусь к выбору любого человека, никого не отговариваю, лишь привожу научные данные, возможные риски, призываю к осознанности. Главное — мера.

К сожалению, у нас нет единого центра сбора информации об осложнениях и побочных эффектах. Пострадавшим тяжело достучаться до научного сообщества.

Доказать системное влияние инвазивных процедур сложно, но локальные эстетические осложнения неоспоримы. Число пострадавших растет, а информация, к счастью, доходит до потенциальных клиентов, которые могут более объективно все взвесить и решить, оправданы ли эти риски.
Рейтинг статьи
0,0
Оценок: 0
Оцените эту статью
Асет Хамхоева
Асет Хамхоева
Напишите, пожалуйста, свое мнение по этой теме:
avatar
  Уведомления о комментариях  
Уведомить о
Содержание Оценить Комментарии
Поделиться

Вам также может понравиться

Косметик эстетист о печальных последствиях ботокса
Время чтения: 5 мин
Юлия Чуприкова
Юлия Чуприкова
Косметик эстетист по лицу
Экспертное мнение врачей о пользе и вреде голодания
Время чтения: 5 мин
5.0
(2)
Руслан Абрамов
Пластический хирург
Уколы красоты: подводные камни инвазивных процедур
Время чтения: 11 мин
5.0
(1)
Руслан Абрамов
Пластический хирург

Выбор редакции

Ашваганда: всё что нужно знать перед применением этого суперфуда
Время чтения: 6 мин
5.0
(2)
Лиана Валеева
Эксперт по коррекции веса и психологии пищевого поведения