Ninja: Elusive spies from the land of the rising sun

Ninja: Elusive spies from the land of the rising sun
Picture: elconfidencial.com
Share

The silent, black-clad ninja who spies, sabotages, and commits murder (without leaving a trace) remains a popular Japanese character in modern books and films.

It has somewhat inspired pop culture phenomena ranging from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to American Ninja Warrior. But the facts about ninja history can be as elusive as the iconic fighters themselves.

The history of the ninja is shrouded in mythology

Some modern scholars question whether ninjas actually existed – or were simply a mythical invention.

This skepticism stems in part from the fact that ninjas are often described as martial arts experts with supernatural abilities, or as sorcerers who can create fire with their fingertips, control the wind, and move objects without touching them with their hands. In many stories, they fly and even split into multiple bodies to thwart those in hot pursuit.

Ninja
Picture: outfit4events.com

Most scholars believe that historical accounts of ninjas, like many underworld characters, have been greatly embellished while retaining a grain of truth.

“The common approach, even among scholars, is to simply accept the original ninja myth as a genuine historical phenomenon that has been heavily romanticized for centuries and, more recently, heavily commercialized,” writes Stephen Turnbull is an expert on Japanese history and author of Ninja: A Myth Debunked.

Ninjas have been active since the 14th century, when they were hired by daimyos, or feudal Japanese warlords, primarily for intelligence and counterintelligence. But their secretive nature has left few mentions of them in the historical record. Much of what is known comes from texts written in the 1600s and later, well after the Shogun Wars when ninjas flourished.

Ninjas served mainly as spies

What made a ninja different? Unlike Japan’s other famous warriors, the samurai, who were highly skilled fighters from elite families, ninjas came from all walks of life. And unlike samurai, ninja were not bound by a strict code of honor (bushido) that required face-to-face combat. Warlords could hire ninjas to engage in guerrilla warfare that would dishonor the samurai.
Ninja
Picture: eluniverso.com

Because they served as mercenaries and spies, ninjas had to be especially skilled at disguise and subterfuge. And while they were popularly portrayed as trained assassins, they were more likely skilled at stealth, diversion, and counterintelligence than assassination. Their main duty was to secretly collect useful information for their master.

The word “ninja” does not appear in historical texts or accounts until the 19th century. Most likely, in early texts these fighters were most often referred to as “shinobi,” which shares a common character with ninja in Japanese hieroglyphic writing.

The “Yapam Dictionary of the Japanese Language,” a Japanese-Portuguese dictionary published by the Jesuit mission to Nagasaki in 1603, defines a shinobi as “a spy who, in times of war, enters a castle at night or secretly, or infiltrates the enemy’s ranks to obtain intelligence.”

Yakuza: 17 interesting facts about the Japanese mafia
Yakuza: 17 interesting facts about the Japanese mafia
This intelligence made shinobi extremely valuable to their patrons, says historian Yamada Yuji, vice president of the International Ninja Research Center at Japan’s Mie University and editor of an interdisciplinary anthology of ninja studies: “You need to know the topography of the enemy’s positions.” , the state of its food supplies. The shinobi’s job was to obtain this kind of important information. They infiltrated enemy territory and discovered the location of the land… and created chaos through acts of sabotage and arson.”

The origins of the art of ninja

As mercenaries, ninjas fought alongside warlords throughout Japan. But according to Gunpo Samurai Yushu, a dictionary of samurai military law, the best shinobi of the feudal era came from the neighboring provinces of Iga and Koka, located in the mountainous region southeast of Japan’s then capital Kyoto. By the 14th century, about two dozen ninja schools appeared throughout Japan. According to the 17th century Bansenshukai, a 22-volume encyclopedia on the art of ninja, the discipline of ninjutsu drew inspiration from the guerrilla tactics of the brilliant Chinese military strategist Sun Tzu.

Ninja
Picture: infos-75.com

The Bansenshukai describes ninja arts as social skills, conversational techniques, mnemonics (memory aids), methods of communicating information, medicine, astronomy, and even witchcraft. Ninjas were trained to use their intelligence and vast knowledge to infiltrate any social environment, gain knowledge, and escape safely to report their findings to their patron.

A psychologically good ninja requires intense self-discipline and purity of mind, says Yuji: “a mental state of absolute calm in which a person will not flinch even if a naked blade is pressed to his chest.”

Being masters of camouflage, ninjas often infiltrated their targets not under the cover of darkness, but in broad daylight, masquerading as a merchant or Buddhist priest. They used many common tools such as sickle and sword as weapons to blend in with the peasants. But they were also famous for carrying shuriken, the star of the ninja, because these pocket-sized hand-throwing blades could be easily concealed and used to disarm an opponent.

Defining Moments in Ninja History

Although their origins may date back to the 12th century or earlier, shinobi were active when Japan was filled with territorial skirmishes between warlords. Shinobi played an important role in, among other things, the Nanbokucho Wars (1336-1392) and the Warring States Period (1467-1568).

Ninja
Picture: r7.com

The Honno-ji Incident of 1582 shows how ninjas could even influence the course of Japanese history. After the samurai general killed Oda Nobunaga, one of the three powerful shoguns who sought to unify Japan, at the Honno-ji Temple in Kyoto, he then proceeded to murder Nobunaga’s loyalists and allies.

But his target, Tokugawa Ieyasu, another of the “great unifiers of Japan,” was fortunate to have the ninja Hattori Hanzo of Iga as a friend and general. It is believed that swordsman Hanzō (or perhaps another anonymous ninja) smuggled Ieyasu out of enemy territory and brought him home safely.

Spartan education – the secret of the power of ancient Sparta
Spartan education – the secret of the power of ancient Sparta

If Ieyasu had been killed, Japanese history might have taken a significantly different direction. In 1603, Emperor Go-Ezei elevated him to the rank of shogun. The Tokugawa Ieyasu shogunate, the last of the shogun era, is credited with ushering in two centuries of peace and prosperity known as the Edo period.

However, the transition to peace was messy and marred by huge inequality of wealth. It is said that one ninja, Iga native Ishikawa Goemon, tried to make life more bearable for the peasants by using ninjutsu to steal gold from the rich and give it to the needy. To some, Goemon represents the ninja gone rogue. However, authorities such as the Japanese Ninja Council consider him to be a legendary outlaw hero who most likely emerged from someone’s imagination rather than an actual historical figure.

Real or fictional, Goemon’s story ends tragically. After he failed in his attempt to kill Toyotomi Hideyoshi, a powerful warlord, Hideyoshi’s men executed Goemon by boiling him alive. In many silkscreens and woodcuts, Goemon’s infant son is also thrown into the bathtub and his father heroically holds him over boiling oil, saving his son’s life while he himself dies.

Ниндзя: неуловимые шпионы из страны восходящего солнца

— Обновлено:
Ниндзя: неуловимые шпионы из страны восходящего солнца
Фото: elconfidencial.com
Поделиться

Молчаливый, одетый в черное ниндзя, который шпионит, саботирует и совершает убийства (не оставляя следов) — остается популярным японским персонажем в современных книгах и фильмах.

Он в некоторой степени вдохновил явления поп-культуры, начиная от «черепашек-мутантов-ниндзя» и заканчивая «американским воином-ниндзя». Но факты об истории ниндзя могут быть столь же неуловимыми, как и сами культовые бойцы.

История ниндзя окутана мифологией

Некоторые современные ученые задаются вопросом, существовали ли ниндзя на самом деле — или были просто мифическим изобретением.

Этот скептицизм отчасти проистекает из того, что ниндзя часто описывают как экспертов по боевым искусствам, обладающих сверхъестественными способностями, или как колдунов, которые могут вызывать огонь кончиками пальцев, повелевать ветром и перемещать предметы не прикасаясь к ним руками. Во многих историях они летают и даже разделяются на несколько тел, чтобы помешать тем, кто преследует их по горячим следам.

Ninja
Фото: outfit4events.com

Большинство ученых считают, что исторические рассказы о ниндзя, как и о многих персонажах преступного мира, были сильно приукрашены, сохранив при этом крупицу правды.

“Обычный подход, даже среди ученых, заключается в том, чтобы просто принять оригинальный миф о ниндзя как подлинное историческое явление, которое на протяжении веков сильно романтизировалось, а в последнее время сильно коммерциализировалось”, — пишет Стивен Тернбулл, эксперт по истории Японии и автор книги «Ниндзя: разоблачение мифа».

Ниндзя были активны с 14 века, когда их наняли дайме, или феодальные японские военачальники, главным образом для разведки и контрразведки. Но их скрытный характер оставил мало упоминаний о них в исторических записях. Многое из того, что известно, взято из текстов, написанных в 1600-х годах и позже, значительно позже войн сегунов, когда ниндзя процветали.

Ниндзя служили в основном шпионами

Что отличало ниндзя? В отличие от других знаменитых воинов Японии, самураев, которые были высококвалифицированными бойцами из элитных семей, ниндзя происходили из всех слоев общества. И в отличие от самураев, ниндзя не были связаны строгим кодексом чести (бусидо), который требовал боя лицом к лицу. Военачальники могли нанимать ниндзя для участия в партизанской войне, которая обесчестила бы самурая.
Ninja
Фото: eluniverso.com

Поскольку они служили наемниками и шпионами, ниндзя должны были быть особенно искусны в маскировке и уловках. И хотя в народе их изображали как обученных убийц, они, скорее всего, обладали навыками скрытности, отвлечения внимания и контрразведки, чем убийства. Их главной обязанностью было тайно собирать полезные сведения для своего повелителя.

Слово “ниндзя” не встречается в исторических текстах и свидетельствах до 19 века. Скорее всего, в ранних текстах эти бойцы чаще всего упоминались как “шиноби”, что имеет общий иероглиф с ниндзя в японском иероглифическом письме.

“Словарь японского языка Япам”, японско-португальский словарь, изданный миссией иезуитов в Нагасаки в 1603 году, определяет шиноби как «шпиона, который во время войны проникает в замок ночью или тайно, или проникает в ряды противника для получения разведданных».

Якудза: 17 интересных фактов о японской мафии
Якудза: 17 интересных фактов о японской мафии
Этот интеллект делал шиноби чрезвычайно ценными для их покровителей, говорит историк Ямада Юдзи, вице-президент «Международного исследовательского центра ниндзя» при Японском университете Миэ и редактор междисциплинарной антологии исследований ниндзя: “Вам нужно знать топографию позиций противника, состояние его запасов продовольствия. Задачей шиноби было добывать такого рода важную информацию. Они проникали во вражеские владения и выясняли расположение земель… и создавали хаос посредством актов саботажа и поджогов”.

Истоки искусства ниндзя

Будучи наемниками, ниндзя сражались на стороне полевых командиров по всей Японии. Но согласно «Гунпо самурай Юшу», словарю военного права самураев, лучшие шиноби феодальной эпохи происходили из соседних провинций Ига и Кока, расположенных в горном регионе к юго-востоку от тогдашней столицы Японии Киото. К 14 веку по всей Японии появилось около двух десятков школ ниндзя. Согласно «Бансэншукай» 17-го века, 22-томной энциклопедии об искусстве ниндзя, дисциплина ниндзюцу черпала вдохновение в партизанской тактике блестящего китайского военного стратега Сунь-Цзы.

Ninja
Фото: infos-75.com

«Бансэншукай» описывает искусство ниндзя как социальные навыки, технику ведения беседы, мнемонику (средства запоминания), методы передачи информации, медицину, астрономию и даже колдовство. Ниндзя были обучены использовать свой интеллект и обширные знания для проникновения в любую социальную среду, получения знаний и безопасного побега, чтобы сообщить о своих находках своему покровителю.

Психологически хороший ниндзя требует напряженной самодисциплины и чистоты ума, говорит Юдзи: “психическое состояние абсолютного спокойствия, при котором человек не вздрогнет, даже если к его груди прижмут обнаженный клинок”.

Будучи мастерами маскировки, ниндзя часто проникали к своей цели не под покровом ночи, а средь бела дня, маскируясь под торговца или буддийского священника. Они использовали множество обычных инструментов, таких как серп и меч, в качестве оружия, чтобы смешаться с крестьянами. Но они также славились тем, что носили сюрикены, звезду ниндзя, потому что эти ручные метательные клинки карманного размера можно было легко спрятать и использовать для обезоруживания противника.

Определяющие моменты в истории ниндзя

Хотя их происхождение может восходить к 12 веку или раньше, шиноби были активны, когда Япония была полна территориальных стычек между военачальниками. Шиноби сыграли важную роль, среди прочего, в войнах Нанбокучо (1336-1392) и «Периоде воюющих государств» (1467-1568).

Ninja
Фото: r7.com

Инцидент Хонно-дзи 1582 года показывает, как ниндзя могли даже повлиять на ход японской истории. После того, как генерал-самурай убил Оду Нобунагу, одного из трех могущественных сегунов, стремившихся объединить Японию, в храме Хонно-дзи в Киото, он затем приступил к убийству лоялистов и союзников Нобунаги.

Но его цели, Токугаве Иэясу, еще одному из “великих объединителей Японии”, повезло иметь в качестве друга и генерала ниндзя Хаттори Ханзо из Ига. Считается, что мастер фехтования Ханзо (или, возможно, другой анонимный ниндзя) тайно вывез Иэясу с вражеской территории и благополучно доставил его домой.

Спартанское воспитание — секрет могущества древней Спарты
Спартанское воспитание — секрет могущества древней Спарты

Если бы Иэясу был убит, история Японии, возможно, пошла бы в существенно ином направлении. В 1603 году император Го-Едзэй возвел его в ранг сегуна. Сегунату Токугава Иэясу, последнему в эпоху сегунов, приписывают наступление двух столетий мира и процветания, известных как период Эдо.

Однако переход к миру был беспорядочным и омрачался огромным имущественным неравенством. Говорят, что один ниндзя, уроженец Ига Исикава Гоэмон, пытался сделать жизнь крестьян более сносной, используя ниндзюцу, чтобы красть золото у богатых и раздавать его нуждающимся. Для некоторых Гоэмон олицетворяет ниндзя, ставшего изгоем. Однако такие власти, как Японский совет ниндзя, считают его легендарным героем-преступником, который, скорее всего, возник в чьем-то воображении, а не реальной исторической фигурой.

Реальная или вымышленная, история Гоэмона заканчивается трагически. После того, как он потерпел неудачу в своей попытке убить Тоетоми Хидэеси, могущественного военачальника, люди Хидэеси казнили Гоэмона, сварив его заживо. На изображениях на многих шелкографиях и гравюрах на дереве маленького сына Гоэмона также бросили в ванну, и отец героически держит его над кипящим маслом, спасая жизнь своему сыну, в то время как сам умирает.