Fast or operate: a bariatric surgeon on the use of intermittent fasting in the treatment of obesity

7 min read
5.0
(2)
Fast or operate: a bariatric surgeon on the use of intermittent fasting in the treatment of obesity
Picture: everydayhealth.com
Share

Just stop eating from 16:00 to 12:00 the next day – a simple recipe for combating excess weight from popular adherents of intermittent fasting. There are a lot of “success stories” on the Internet, but has a fail-safe way to control excess weight really been found?

Why don’t we eat enough?

One of the most important causes of excess weight and obesity is overeating. Why does a person eat a lot? Satiety begins in the stomach. When we eat, it expands and signals are sent through the vagal nerve, which connects the stomach to the brain, that the person is full. The transmission of this signal can be disrupted for physiological or emotional reasons.

  • The most common physiological cause of overeating is a distended stomach: the signal to the brain arrives very late, when a large volume of food is already in the stomach. In this case, a person almost always runs the risk of eating 2-3 times more than normal.
  • Also, saturation may occur later than expected if a person has a lack of sleep. At such moments, improper production of the hormones ghrelin (hunger hormone) and leptin (weight loss hormone) occurs in the body. Their synthesis and secretion vary, adjusting to metabolism and energy balance. When there is a lack of sleep, a disorder occurs – the body begins to produce more ghrelin and less leptin.
  • A common emotional cause of overeating is strict dieting. A long and painful diet restriction leads to energy deficiency and a lack of essential microelements for normal life. At some point, the desire to eat something “forbidden” overpowers, a breakdown occurs, and the person eats 2-3 times more than normal.

How does intermittent fasting affect the body?

Intermittent fasting is an eating pattern that involves periods during which a person abstains from food in order to lose weight. The technique is often used to reduce body weight by people who are overweight, but not obese. Many scientists even advocate that this style of eating is evolutionarily characteristic of humans. It fits perfectly into the cycle of wakefulness (day) and sleep (night), that is, human circadian rhythms. We are talking about evening intermittent fasting according to the 16:8 scheme. (16 hours without food, you can only eat for 8 hours during the day). It is a known fact that eating at night is associated with a higher risk of obesity and diabetes, so giving up food, for example, three hours before bed can be the right decision for almost everyone.
Intermittent fasting for obesity
Picture: sky.com

But the safety of eating at serious intervals has been confirmed by researchers only for the average healthy person. Circadian rhythms and intermittent fasting have not been studied in the long term, and there are no supporting large population findings.

Risks “in the moment” are known:

  • Long breaks lead to the fact that a person does not feel full for a long time while eating, so he risks eating 2-3 times more than his norm in terms of volume and calorie content. And regular overeating is one of the main causes of obesity.
  • Alternating periods of overeating and subsequent hunger is a pattern of pathological eating behavior. A healthy person replenishes the necessary energy through nutrition. This is signaled by a feeling of hunger, and it occurs on average 2-3 times a day. Therefore, it is more psychologically safe (to avoid eating disorders) to eat small portions several times during the day, following the regime.
  • Irregular eating, which is intermittent fasting, can disrupt the production of hormones such as insulin, ghrelin and leptin, which are responsible for hunger, satiety and metabolism. This can lead to the development of systemic chronic diseases such as diabetes, obesity, metabolic disorders, and increase the risk of developing cardiovascular diseases.
  • Fasting is dangerous for pregnant and breastfeeding women.
  • In our experience, there are risks of dyspeptic disorders in people with gastrointestinal diseases, exacerbations of cholelithiasis, ulcers.
  • Lack of nutrients in the body due to fasting can cause vitamin and mineral deficiencies, which will affect a person’s overall health.

Intermittent fasting VS bariatric

The proportion of Russians who are obese is growing rapidly: already every tenth person is overweight, which means that the number of complications is increasing – diabetes, cardiovascular pathologies, etc. Bariatric surgery is developing and gaining popularity. This is an effective treatment method, the indication for which is not only obesity, but also concomitant diseases and complications. There are several types of bariatric surgery, but most involve reducing the volume of the stomach using some type of surgical technique.

Bariatrics
Picture: fountainavenuekitchen.com

In 2020, 3,292 operations were performed, and in 2023 there were already 8,955—172% more. There are even quotas for interventions, for example, for people with diabetes. The Nationwide Bariatric Registry reports that only 30% of obese people do not have additional diagnoses. But they may also be eligible for bariatric surgery if their BMI (body mass index) is above 40.

Often, supporters of intermittent fasting claim that the technique is an alternative to bariatric surgery because it can help reduce the volume of the stomach without surgery. This is partially true: when you are in a calorie deficit, your stomach volume can actually decrease temporarily. However, as with any other diet, after the end of intermittent fasting, the stomach will quickly return to the same size or even risk enlargement.

In the short term, due to the reduction in the number of meals, you can see the first results of weight loss in a few days. However, there is no point in long-term intermittent fasting – then the weight will come off more slowly or stop altogether. Therefore, intermittent fasting cannot be considered as an alternative to bariatrics.

Clinical nutritionist on popular types of intermittent fasting
Clinical nutritionist on popular types of intermittent fasting
5 min read
5.0
(2)
Alena Chernova
Alena Chernova
Nutritionist expert, clinical nutritionist, health-coach

But we cannot say that the intermittent fasting technique is harmful. According to observations, it works for “short distances” when a person is overweight, but not yet obese. And if a person, after a diet, generally changes his lifestyle and decides to permanently reduce the amount of food he eats, this is good and correct.

Moreover, there are no strict contraindications to intermittent fasting in bariatric patients. This method is chosen by patients to lose a few kilograms before surgery. But due to the danger of exacerbation of chronic diseases, it is extremely important to increase control over the intake of medications at this time; laboratory tests must be regularly carried out to prevent deficiencies of microelements and vitamins, and in general the process should be monitored by a doctor.

Contraindications

In many cases, the decision “to go on a strict diet from tomorrow” comes to those who already have not only a high body mass index, but also chronic diseases associated with excess weight. It is possible that there may be psychological problems that contribute to the development of eating disorders. Therefore, before prescribing a patient for bariatric surgery, doctors conduct a full examination.
Expert opinion of doctors on the benefits and harms of fasting
Expert opinion of doctors on the benefits and harms of fasting
5 min read
5.0
(3)
Ruslan Abramov
Plastic surgeon

The decision to operate is made collectively. Before making a serious decision, it is important to identify all contraindications and consult with doctors – therapist, nutritionist, endocrinologist. This approach should be taken before introducing any weight loss techniques, including intermittent fasting. At a minimum, you should consult a doctor regarding personal contraindications.

For intermittent fasting, the primary list includes:

  • stomach diseases;
  • diseases of the gallbladder (with prolonged practice, stagnation of bile and the development of cholelithiasis are possible) and adrenal glands;
  • diabetes mellitus, hypertension, gout;
  • body mass index less than 18.5;
  • eating disorder;
  • pregnancy and breastfeeding;
  • regular medication intake associated with meals;
  • age up to 18 years.
Both after a diet and after bariatric surgery, it is important to maintain a sleep schedule and eat a regular and balanced diet, drink enough water, and engage in daily aerobic exercise. And most importantly, all this needs to be done under the supervision of doctors, from the standpoint of a complete lifestyle change, and not short-term measures.

There is confirmed quantitative data that if in obesity the process of losing and maintaining weight is not supervised by doctors, including bariatric surgeons , for men the chances of achieving normal body weight are only 1 in 210, and for women – 1 in 124.

Article rating
5.0
2 Ratings
Rate this article
Maxim Burikov
Have you used the intermittent fasting method to lose weight? What effect did you achieve?
avatar
  Comment notifications  
Notify of
Maxim Burikov
Read my other articles:
Content Rate it Comments
Share

You may also like

Intermittent fasting from the perspective of a certified nutritionist
5 min read
5.0
(1)
Marina Kosenkova
Marina Kosenkova
Certified Nutritionist
Clinical nutritionist on popular types of intermittent fasting
5 min read
5.0
(2)
Alena Chernova
Alena Chernova
Nutritionist expert, clinical nutritionist, health-coach

Editor's Choice

Expert review of the main types of eating behavior
7 min read
5.0
(2)
Liana Valeeva
Expert in weight management and eating psychology
Should you put ice on your face? An expert on the effects of cold on the skin
7 min read
5.0
(3)
Natalia Lesnova
Natalia Lesnova
Founder of a natural skincare brand, PhD

Голодать или оперировать: бариатрический хирург о применении интервального голодания в лечении ожирения

Время чтения: 7 мин
5.0
(2)
Голодать или оперировать: бариатрический хирург о применении интервального голодания в лечении ожирения
Фото: everydayhealth.com
Поделиться

Просто прекратите есть с 16 часов до 12 часов следующего дня — простой рецепт борьбы с лишним весом от популярных адептов интервального голодания. «Историй успеха» в сети немало, но действительно ли найден безотказный способ контролировать лишний вес?

Почему мы не наедаемся?

Одна из самых главных причин возникновения лишнего веса и ожирения — это переедание. Почему человек много съедает? Сытость начинается с желудка. Когда мы едим, происходит его расширение и через вагусный нерв, связывающий желудок с головным мозгом, поступают сигналы о том, что человек насыщается. Передача этого сигнала может быть нарушена по физиологическим или эмоциональным причинам.

  • Самой распространенной физиологической причиной переедания является растянутый желудок: сигнал в мозг поступает очень поздно, когда в желудке уже находится большой объем пищи. В этом случае человек практически всегда рискует съесть в 2-3 раза больше нормы.
  • Также насыщение может наступить позже положенного, если у человека дефицит сна. В такие моменты в организме происходит неправильная выработка гормонов грелина (гормон голода) и лептина (гормон похудения). Их синтез и секреция варьируются, подстраиваясь под обмен веществ и энергетический баланс. При дефиците сна происходит нарушение — организм начинает вырабатывать больше грелина и меньше лептина.
  • Распространенная эмоциональная причина переедания — строгая диета. Долгое и мучительное ограничение рациона приводит к дефициту энергии и недобору необходимых микроэлементов для нормальной жизнедеятельности. В какой-то момент желание съесть что-то «запрещенное» пересиливает, происходит срыв, и человек съедает в 2-3 раза больше нормы.

Как интервальное голодание влияет на организм?

Интервальное голодание — это схема питания, при которой предусмотрены периоды, в течение которых человек отказывается от пищи с целью снижения веса. Методику часто используют для снижения массы тела люди с лишним весом, но не страдающие ожирением. Многие ученые даже выступают за то, что такой стиль питания свойственен человеку эволюционно. Он отлично вписывается в цикл бодрствования (день) и сна (ночь), то есть циркадные ритмы человека. Речь идет о вечернем интервальном голодании по схеме 16:8. (16 часов без пищи, есть можно только в течение 8 часов днем). При этом известен факт, что еда в ночное время связана с более высоким риском возникновения ожирения и диабета, поэтому отказ от пищи, например, за три часа до сна может стать правильным решением практически для всех.
Intermittent fasting for obesity
Фото: sky.com

Но безопасность питания с серьезными интервалами подтверждена исследователями только для среднестатистического здорового человека. Циркадные ритмы и интервальное голодание не изучались в долгосрочной перспективе, и подтверждающих крупных популяционных выводов тоже нет.

Риски «в моменте» при этом известны:

  • Длительные перерывы приводят к тому, что человек во время еды долго не испытывает чувство насыщения, поэтому рискует съесть в 2-3 раза больше своей нормы по объему и калорийности. А регулярное переедание — это одна из главных причин возникновения ожирения.
  • Чередование периодов переедания и последующего голода — это паттерн патологического пищевого поведения. Здоровый человек восполняет с помощью питания необходимую энергию. Об этом сигнализирует чувство голода, а оно возникает в среднем 2-3 раза за сутки. Поэтому более психологически безопасно (чтобы не возникали расстройства пищевого поведения) питаться небольшими порциями несколько раз в течение дня, соблюдая режим.
  • Нерегулярное питание, которым и является интервальное голодание, может сбивать ритмы выработки гормонов, таких как инсулин, грелин и лептин, которые отвечают за чувство голода, насыщения и обмен веществ. Это может привести к развитию системных хронических заболеваний, таких как диабет, ожирение, нарушение обмена веществ, и повысить риск развития сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний.
  • Голодание опасно для беременных и кормящих женщин.
  • По нашему опыту, есть риски диспепсических расстройств у людей с заболеваниями ЖКТ, обострений желчнокаменной болезни, язв.
  • Недостаток питательных веществ в организме из-за голодания может вызвать дефицит витаминов и минералов, что отразится на общем состоянии здоровья человека.

Интервальное голодание VS бариатрия

Доля россиян, страдающих ожирением, стремительно растет: уже каждый десятый имеет избыточную массу тела, а значит, возрастает и количество осложнений — сахарный диабет, сердечно-сосудистые патологии и пр. Бариатрическая хирургия развивается и приобретает популярность. Это действенный метод лечения, показанием к нему является не только ожирение, но и сопутствующие болезни и осложнения. Существует несколько видов бариатрических операций, но большинство из них связано с уменьшением объема желудка с помощью той или иной хирургической методики.

Bariatrics
Фото: fountainavenuekitchen.com

В 2020 году было выполнено 3292 операции, а в 2023 году уже 8955 — на 172% больше. Существуют даже квоты на проведение вмешательств, например, для людей с сахарным диабетом. Общероссийский бариатрический реестр сообщает, что только 30% людей с ожирением не имеют дополнительных диагнозов. Но и им может быть показана бариатрия, если их ИМТ (индекс массы тела) выше 40.

Нередко сторонники интервального голодания утверждают, что методика является альтернативой бариатрическим операциям, потому что с ее помощью можно уменьшить объем желудка без хирургического вмешательства. Это частично верно: при дефиците калорий объем желудка действительно может на время уменьшиться. Однако, как и в случае с любыми другими диетами, после окончания интервального голодания желудок быстро станет прежним или даже рискует увеличиться.

В краткосрочной перспективе в связи с уменьшением количества приемов пищи можно за несколько дней получить первые результаты снижения веса. Однако в длительном интервальном голодании нет смысла — дальше вес будет уходить медленнее, либо вовсе остановится. Поэтому рассматривать интервальное голодание как альтернативу бариатрии нельзя.

Клинический нутрициолог о популярных схемах интервального голодания
Клинический нутрициолог о популярных схемах интервального голодания
Время чтения: 5 мин

Но мы не можем сказать, что методика интервального голодания вредна. Она, по наблюдениям, работает на «короткие дистанции», когда у человека есть лишний вес, но еще нет ожирения. И если человек после диеты в целом меняет образ жизни, принимает для себя решение на постоянной основе уменьшить объемы съедаемой пищи, — это хорошо и правильно.

Более того, строгих противопоказаний к интервальному голоданию нет и у бариатрических пациентов. Такой способ выбирается пациентами, чтобы сбросить несколько килограммов перед операцией. Но из-за опасности обострения хронических заболеваний крайне важно повысить в это время контроль над приемом лекарственных препаратов, нужно регулярно проводить лабораторные исследования для профилактики дефицитов микроэлементов, витаминов, и в целом контролировать процесс должен врач.

Противопоказания

Во многих случаях решение «с завтрашнего дня — на жесткую диету» приходит к тем, кто уже имеет не только высокий индекс массы тела, но и сопутствующие лишнему весу хронические заболевания. Не исключено, что могут быть и психологические проблемы, способствующие развитию расстройств пищевого поведения. Поэтому перед тем как назначить пациенту бариатрическую операцию, врачи проводят полноценное обследование.
Экспертное мнение врачей о пользе и вреде голодания
Экспертное мнение врачей о пользе и вреде голодания
Время чтения: 5 мин

Решение об операции принимается коллегиально. Перед тем как принять серьезное решение, важно выявить все противопоказания и проконсультироваться с врачами — терапевтом, диетологом, эндокринологом. Такой подход должен быть и перед внедрением любых методик похудения, включая интервальное голодание. Как минимум, необходимо получить консультацию доктора относительно персональных противопоказаний.

Для интервального голодания в первичный список входят:

  • желудочные заболевания;
  • болезни желчного пузыря (при длительной практике возможен застой желчи и развитие желчнокаменной болезни) и надпочечников;
  • сахарный диабет, гипертония, подагра;
  • индекс массы тела менее 18,5;
  • расстройство пищевого поведения;
  • беременность и кормление грудью;
  • регулярный прием лекарств, связанный с приемами пищи;
  • возраст до 18 лет.
И после диеты, и после бариатрической операции важно соблюдать режим сна и регулярно и сбалансировано питаться, пить достаточно воды, заниматься ежедневными аэробными нагрузками. И самое главное — делать все это нужно под контролем врачей, с позиции полного изменения образа жизни, а не краткосрочных мер.

Существуют подтвержденные количественные данные, о том что, если при ожирении процесс снижения и поддержания веса не курируют врачи, в том числе бариатрические хирурги, у мужчин шансы достичь нормальной массы тела равняется всего 1 к 210, а у женщин — 1 к 124.

Рейтинг статьи
5,0
Оценок: 2
Оцените эту статью
Максим Буриков
А Вы использовали метод интервального голодания для снижения веса? Какого эффекта получилось добиться?
avatar
  Уведомления о комментариях  
Уведомить о
Максим Буриков
Читайте другие мои статьи:
Содержание Оценить Комментарии
Поделиться